East Coast Enduro Association: rim lock with bib? - East Coast Enduro Association

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

rim lock with bib?

#1 User is offline   dan sharpless 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: ECEA Member

Posted 15 March 2012 - 06:49 PM

Last time I changed my tire with the bib I used the rim lock then I heard you do not need it.Just wondering what everyone else does?thanks.

#2 User is offline   timothy souder 

• Tight Trail? Bring it on!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: South Jersey Enduro Riders

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:53 PM

dan sharpless said:

1331855376[/url]' post='113118']
Last time I changed my tire with the bib I used the rim lock then I heard you do not need it.Just wondering what everyone else does?thanks.

I've been running bibs for 10 years......I always use the locks, especially needed when the bibs get soft - actually, I have drilled second hole in front wheel directly across from 1st to use a second lock. This is when I run older bib for lower air pressure type feeling.
It is possible to roll tire over bead on a soft bib.

#3 User is offline   des conboy 

• "Has too much time at work to surf the Internet"
  • Group: Members
  • Interests:music ,off road riding , roadracing

Posted 15 March 2012 - 09:05 PM

Ive never used a rim lock with a bib and never had a problem .

#4 User is offline   MARC GROSSMAN 

• Group: Pine Barons Enduro Riders
  • Interests:Wrestling, Playing the drums, Bicycling

Posted 15 March 2012 - 09:12 PM

Heres the pro set-up. No rim lock up front. 1 rim lock in the rear. When my bibs get soft, I will wrap it in a tube.

#5 User is offline   JIM AIELLO 

• Group: Central Jersey Competition Rider
  • Interests:bikes

Posted 15 March 2012 - 09:26 PM